3D 打印塑料模具与传统铝制模具的对比

工业3D打印从不同的角度对不同的行业产生了压倒性的影响。 通过工业 3D 打印,快速原型、通常无法制造或设计昂贵的零件以及材料进步的快速可用性也成为可能。 除此之外,工业3D打印也被用于制造注塑模具。 然而,它不适合; 为什么? 我们将在本文中解释它。

支持者声称,使用工业3D打印制造塑料模具可节省90%的时间,降低70%的成本,并有利于轻负载下的应用。 但是,与传统加工的铝制模具相比,了解使用工业 3D 打印机制造塑料模具的缺点仍然很重要。 因此,以下是基于使用 3D 打印制造塑料模具不被认为是一个好的选择的原因:

1、模具质量

当使用 3D 打印机制造塑料模具时,模具的质量可能不会令人印象深刻。 工业 3D 打印机使用层来形成一个完整的模具,在墙壁或有角度的表面上呈现出阶梯效果。 同时,模具一定要钻孔或铰孔,并攻丝或铣削螺纹特征。 这些二次操作增加了模具的时间。 然而,模具的质量应该保持不妥协。

2、模具尺寸

使用工业 3D 打印机的模具允许体积约为 10 立方英寸,接近柚子的大小。 无可争议的是,现代增材机具有更好的能力和能力来形成模具。 然而,这些先进的机器远远落后于 EDM 设备和加工中心。 原因是他们可以方便地制造尺寸高达 59 立方英寸的模具,这大约是工业 3D 打印机容量的六倍。

3. 过热

注塑中使用的模具必须面对过热,以使材料适当流动。 通常,钢和铝模具的温度保持在 260°C 左右,特别是在制备高温塑料时。 反之,立体光刻和类似3D打印方法的模具则不可能满足如此高的温度。 这是因为这些过程涉及通过紫外线固化的光反应性树脂。 当长时间暴露在如此高的热量下时,这些塑料模具会立即分解。

3D 打印的塑料模具在完成 100 次苯乙烯和聚乙烯等软塑料材料的注射之前就变得无效了。 但是玻璃填充的聚碳酸酯和其他坚韧的热塑性塑料可能会表现出一些阻力。 随后,我们可以说,工业3D打印制成的塑料模具不适合在注塑过程中面对热量。

4. 成本比较

成本一直是关于首选铝模具的传统制造或使用工业 3D 打印机制造的讨论点。 通常,工业3D打印塑料模具被认为成本较低,这是一种错误的看法。 例如,使用 3D 打印机制作塑料模具的成本为 1000 美元。 如果使用传统的铝制模具制造方法制造,它将触及 20,000 美元的数字。

但值得吗? 当然,并不是因为由3D打印机组成的模具不会提供超过50到100次的服务。 投资者需要另一个模具来保持生产速度。 因此,投资者将不得不再投资 1000 美元。 虽然在这里重要的是要知道 3D 打印模具的成本估算可能不包括人工成本。

另一方面,使用传统方法生产的铝制模具可能要花费 15,000 美元。 尽管如此,这笔投资足以覆盖相当长一段时间的生产消耗,因为此类模具可以支持 10,000 个生产周期。 同样,对于铝模具的常规制造,投资者有更好的能力选择定制选项。

5. 模具设计

除了其他复杂性之外,模具的设计也非常重要,而 3D 打印机往往会影响到模具的设计。 尽管如此,当将这种技术特征添加到模具设计中时,由传统模具制造工艺组成的模具提供了巨大的便利。 通常,3D打印机制作的模具消耗塑料材料,难以实现模具的以下目标,而常规制备的铝模具很容易具备这些能力。 下面给出了一些值得注意的例子:

  • 使用 3D 打印机很难实现顶针的准确位置和数量。
  • 拔模角度应扩大到 5 度或更多,远远超过大多数铝制工具必需品。
  • 对于 3D 打印的塑料模具,必须避免点浇口和隧道。
  • 对于塑料模具,扇形浇口、浇口浇口和凸耳浇口应增加其原始尺寸的三倍。
  • 聚合物流过 3D 打印塑料模具的位置应类似于 3D 打印线,以防止在降低的注射压力下粘连和增强填充。

因此,塑料模具的简单设计可能适用于 3D 打印机。 然而,复杂的设计模具远离这些打印机的领域。

使用工业 3D 打印机制造模具的可能优势

相辅相成,尽管大批量生产失败,但由3D打印机组成的塑料模具仍然具有一些优势。 这些优势包括:

  • 如果需要少量具有大拔模角的基本模具,工业 3D 打印机非常适合制作塑料模具。
  • 如果您的工具和模具团队确信他们可以美化模具中所需的所有功能,并且熟悉模具的设计规则,您就可以继续。 否则,您可能会浪费时间和金钱。
  • 假设您有足够的资源、劳动力和机器来加工/组装塑料模具。 在这种情况下,您可以对其进行处理,但它可能不经济。

3D-Printed Plastic Molds versus Conventional Aluminum Tooling

Industrial 3D printing has an overwhelming impact on different industries from diverse perspectives. The quick availability of rapid prototypes, parts with usually not manufacturable or expensive designs, and material advancements have also become possible with industrial 3D printing. Apart from that, industrial 3D printing is also being used for the manufacturing of plastic injection molds. However, it is not suitable; why? We will explain it here in this article.

The proponents claim that using industrial 3D printing to manufacture plastic molds saves 90% of the time, reduces the cost by 70%, and facilitates applications under light loads. But it is still essential to understand the disadvantages of making plastic molds using industrial 3D printing machines compared to conventionally machined aluminum molds. So, here are the reasons based on which manufacturing of plastic molds using 3D printing is not considered a good option:

1. Quality of the Mold

When a plastic mold is manufactured using a 3D printer, the quality of the mold might not be impressive. The industrial 3D printer uses layers to form a complete mold, exhibiting a stair-step effect on the wall or angled surface. At the same time, the molds are sure to be drilled or reamed for holes and tapped or milled for threaded features. These secondary operations add in the time the mold. However, the quality of the mold should remain uncompromised.

2. Size of the Mold

The permissible volume of the mold using an industrial 3D printer is around ten cubic inches, close to the size of a grapefruit. Inarguably, modern additive machines have better capability and capacity to form molds. However, these advanced machines are way behind the EDM equipment and machining centers. The reason is that they can conveniently manufacture molds up to the size of 59 cubic inches, which is about six times larger than the capacity of an industrial 3D printer.

3. Exposure to Excessive Heat

The molds used in the injection molding have to face excessive heat to allow the material to flow appropriately. Usually, the temperature for steel and aluminum molds remains around 260°C, particularly when preparing high-temperature plastics. Conversely, it is impossible to meet such a high temperature for the molds of stereolithography and similar 3D printing methods. It is because these processes involve photoreactive resins cured by UV light. These plastic molds instantly break down when exposed to this much heat for an extended period.

The 3D-printed plastic molds become ineffective before they complete their 100 shots of soft plastic material such as styrene and polyethylene. But glass-filled polycarbonates and other tough thermoplastics might show some resistance. Subsequently, we can say that the plastic molds made up of industrial 3D printing are not suitable to face heat in the injection molding process.

4. Comparison of Costs

The cost has always been a point of discussion regarding preferring from the conventional manufacturing of aluminum molds or manufacturing using an industrial 3D printer. Usually, the industrial 3D-printed plastic molds are considered lower in cost, which is a wrong perception. For instance, the making of plastic mold using a 3D printer is costing $1000. It will touch the figure of $20,000 if manufactured using a conventional aluminum mold-making method.

But is it worthwhile? Of course, it is not because the mold made up of the 3D printer will not offer its services more than 50 to 100 times. The investor would need another mold to maintain the speed of production. So, the investor will have to incur an investment of $1000 more. While it is important to know here that the cost estimation of 3D-printed mold may not include labor cost.

On the other hand, the aluminum mold produced using conventional methods might cost you $15,000. Still, this investment is enough to cover production-consumption for a considerable time, as such molds can support 10,000 production cycles. Likewise, with the conventional manufacturing of aluminum molds, investors have a better ability to choose customization options.

5. Design of the Mold

Amid other complexities, the mold’s design is of significant importance, which often remains compromised with 3D printers. Nonetheless, molds made up of the conventional mold-making processes offer colossal convenience when adding such a technical feature to the mold’s design. Commonly, the molds made up of 3D printers consume plastic material, which is reluctant to achieve the following targets for the mold, and conventionally prepared aluminum molds readily possess these abilities. Some of the notable instances are given below:

  • The exact placement and quantity of ejector pins are harder to achieve with 3D printers.
  • Draft angles should be expanded to 5 degrees or more, extraordinarily surpassing that of most aluminum tooling necessities.
  • Point gates and tunnels must be avoided in case of 3D-printed plastic molds.
  • For plastic tooling, fan, sprue, and tab gates should increase three times their original size. 
  • Polymer flow through the 3D-printed plastic mold should be situated similarly to 3D print lines to stay away from sticking and enhancing filling at reduced injection pressures.

Consequently, the simple design of plastic molds may work with the 3D printer. Nevertheless, complex design molds are far away from the domain of these printers.

Possible Advantages of Mold Making Using Industrial 3D Printer

Hand in hand, despite being a failure for large volume productions, plastic molds made up of 3D printers still have some advantages. These advantages include: 

  • If a low quantity of elementary molds is required with a large drafted angle, an industrial 3D printer is perfect for making the plastic mold. 
  • If your tool-and-die team is confident that they can glorify all the features needed in the mold and is acquainted with the mold’s design rules, you can go ahead. Otherwise, you might waste your time and money. 
  • Suppose you have enough resources, labor, and machines to process/assemble the plastic mold. In that case, you can work on it, but it might not remain economical.